FLIP 74 - Revisiting Flow Transaction Fee

Revisiting Flow Transaction Fee

Status Proposed
FLIP # 74
Author(s) Kshitij Chaudhary (kshitij.chaudhary@dapperlabs.com)
Sponsor Kshitij Chaudhary (kshitij.chaudhary@dapperlabs.com)
FLIP Document https://github.com/onflow/flips/pull/74

In early days of the Flow network, when the number of transactions were fewer, transaction fees were intentionally kept low to encourage network usage. Today however, with Flow’s purpose-built compute platform and web3 utility for the masses driving a growing user-base on the network, there is a need to revisit the fees. This FLIP proposes an increase in transaction fee and seeks community feedback on the proposed changes.

1 Like

Hi everyone, those of you who don’t know me, I’m a Sr Product Manager in Flow protocol team, leading Tokenomics and Governance related activities required to scale Flow to greater security, decentralization, mass adoption, and long-term economic stability. I look forward to your critical feedback on this proposal, and together, shape the economics and future of Flow. Thank you!

1 Like

This is really a great idea, and very good work. I just went over it quickly, but I fully support. Thank you for the detailed FLIP @kshitij.chaudhary

In general, I like the proposal combined with FLIP 66 related to account storage.

What would be interesting imo is to add in the comparison with other alt L1 is the transaction fee for ETH L2. One of the biggest narratives for L2s is how cheap the transaction fees are. It would be great to see with this new proposal how Flow transaction fee model is compared to: Immutable, Polygon/Polygon Zkevm (launching next week), Arbitrum (launched this week) for example

2 Likes